Thursday, 15 April 2010

Here Lies Love - David Byrne and Fatboy Slim tackle the venerable Imelda Marcos

Ok ... Is this not an Indie Drag Queen’s wet dream? A song cycle based on the life of Imelda Marcos … the doyen of excess and exploitation!

My dear bro actually met her when he was in the Youth Choir … along with George Hamilton who was pretty much part of the furniture and always had his mother in tow (which in 70s speak means he is one of those gays!) … anyhoo … apparently David Byrne is still trying to get a theatrical representation of this off the ground … but I guess he’s having trouble finding the appropriate backing.

Hopefully proceeds from the sales of this CD will help finally bring it to the footlights. I’m contemplating buying the deluxe edition which comes with a book and a DVD – and why would I do that … because it has Tori Amos and Cyndi Lauper doing a duet!!

Here's the Tracklist. And as you can see if Cyndi and Tori aren't your cuppa ... well there's plenty more to choose from including the ubiquitous Florence Welch and Steve Earle (???)

Disc One:
01. Here Lies Love (feat. Florence Welch)
02. Every Drop of Rain (feat. Candie Payne & St. Vincent)
03. You’ll Be Taken Care Of (feat. Tori Amos)
04. The Rose of Tacloban (feat. Martha Wainwright)
05. How Are You? (feat. Nellie McKay)
06. A Perfect Hand (feat. Steve Earle)
07. Eleven Days (feat. Cyndi Lauper)
08. When She Passed By (feat. Allison Moorer)
09. Walk Like a Woman (feat. Charmaine Clamor)
10. Don’t You Agree? (feat. Róisín Murphy)
11. Pretty Face (feat. Camille)
12. Ladies in Blue (feat. Theresa Andersson)

Disc Two:
01. Dancing Together (feat. Sharon Jones)
02. Men Will Do Anything (feat. Alice Russel
03. The Whole Man (feat. Kate Pierson)
04. Never So Big (feat. Sia)
05. Please Don’t (feat. Santigold)
06. American Troglodyte
07. Solano Avenue (feat. Nicole Atkins)
08. Order 1081 (feat. Natalie Merchant)
09. Seven Years (feat. Shara Worden)
10. Why Don’t You Love Me? (feat. Cyndi Lauper & Tori Amos)



    1. Not sure if the special edition is still available Mr Tripster, but you can find the standard 2 CD set on Amazon:

  2. This comment has been removed by the author.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...